Hong Kong to ease Covid-19 restrictions with Macau and Guangdong

Hong Kong will relax quarantine requirements from September 15.
Hong Kong will relax quarantine requirements from September 15.

Hong Kong will launch a “Come2HK” campaign designed to resume the flow of people between Hong Kong, Guangdong and Macau.

Hong Kong.- Authorities in Hong Kong have announced that Macau ID holders and Guangdong residents can travel to Hong Kong without compulsory quarantine on arrival from September 15.

Hong Kong will run a campaign dubbed Come2HK. Visitors will need to show a negative Covid-19 test and undergo further testing during their stay in Hong Kong.

Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, Hong Kong chief executive, said Hong Kong had seen zero local Covid-19 infections for 21 days.

She said the Come2HK scheme would have a daily quota of 1,000 travellers via Shenzhen Bay Port in Guangdong, and another 1,000 via the Hong Kong border crossing of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge.

In July, the travel bubble between Hong Kong and Macau was delayed due to a new case of Covid-19 detected in Hong Kong. Macau health official Tai Wa Hou said more time was needed to allow Macau to observe the latest developments in Hong Kong. 

Mainland China continues to be the only country to have a largely quarantine-free travel bubble with Macau. 

Singapore allows quarantine-free entries from Hong Kong and Macau

Authorities in Singapore announced an easing of certain Covid-19 restrictions for visitors. Under the new measures, visitors will be divided into four categories based on their travel history in the previous 21 days.

Category 1 will include people coming from Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, New Zealand and China. They will only be required to have a Covid-19 test and will not need to undergo a 14-day quarantine.

In the case of Hong Kong, the measure won’t be the same for visitors from Singapore who want to go there as the country has given up a potential travel bubble with Singapore and decided to extend quarantine measures until March 2022.

Category 2 will include visitors from Australia, Canada, Germany and from Jiansu province in China. They will have to undergo a 7-day quarantine.

Category 3 is for people coming from Japan and South Korea. Travellers will be required to comply with a 14-day quarantine.

As for Category 4, visitors will have to undergo a 14-day quarantine at places designed by health authorities and will have to undergo a testing regime.

In this article:
Covid-19 Macau casinos